One of the specail day of life

15th May 2009

Few days in your life are so called important such as your birthday, your marriage anniversary and one more joining date of your job. Today is 15th May 2009…..exactly 3 yrs before I had joined L&T with lots of hopes and dreams. Now I am weighing up past 3yrs in terms of professional life value addition and personnel satisfaction, I feel it’s equally tossed.

While drafting this, sitting at Dammam airport, I had never thought @ before 3 yrs that I would be travelling in air such frequent manner. I do remember, in Nov 2006 when I was assigned a Kuwait project and for same I had travelled to Kuwait first time. It was definitely ecstatic moment in any engineer’s life to fly across the country and so far me. But now after 3 yrs in L&T, 11th hour travelling drama has been sucking me. Sometime it’s been difficult to manage all stuffs.

In terms of Value addition, I have learned so many things which enhanced me in much better shape as a professional. I have got enough opportunity to explore and build confidence in many areas. But equally working with gulf customers is slow process. The span in which one should learn and finish the assignment takes too long here which is bothering me nowadays.

Though I have got good superior like Ajit,Amit and Neeraj but sometimes their extra professional touch towards work starched me along and many times I found difficult to keep them happy. Few arguments along the way resulted in cold wars couple of times. This year I have been virtually transferred to Dubai office. Still I am not in position to digest it. I will have fight hard to be back in Mumbai office. This uncertain stage of career is not allowing me to plan certain personnel study agenda.

Well, as a lateral joinee to this L&T firm, the pace of career growth is definitely a concern factor. Few guys who joined L&T earlier to me having less experience and less education got promoted. This could urge a pinching factor in near future when higher management will start focusing some particular band of employee and then I will be not in that league. This is year due to slow down and recession; all promotions have been postponed and so are mine. I guess so.

Now at this juncture of professional life, I have certain amount of goals and ambitions which I am finding it difficult to keep them.

Well hope so coming next 2-3 yrs of my professional life will be full of challenges and learning.

Leave a Reply

